Name: Joseph Papp Public Theater/ Newman Theater
Address: 425 Lafayette Street, New York, NY 10003
Production Information
First performance date: March 13, 2022
Opening date: April 6, 2022
Closing date: May 29, 2022
External Links: Official Website

View Larger Images
Production Description
SUFFS brings to life a complicated chapter in the ongoing battle for the right to vote: the American women’s suffrage movement. This epic new musical takes an unflinching look at these unsung trailblazers. In the seven years leading up to the passage of the Nineteenth Amendment in 1920, an impassioned group of suffragists—“Suffs” as they called themselves—took to the streets, pioneering protest tactics that transformed the country. They risked their lives as they clashed with the president, the public, and each other. A thrilling story of brilliant, flawed women working against and across generational, racial, and class divides, SUFFS boldly explores the victories and failures of a fight for equality that is still far from over.
Opening Night Credits

Production Credits
Person/Company Credit
The Public Theater Producer
Shaina Taub Book
Shaina Taub Music & Lyrics
Leigh Silverman Director
Raja Feather Kelly Choreographer
Mimi Lien Set Designer
Toni-Leslie James Costume Designer
Natasha Katz Lighting Designer
Sun Hee Kil Sound Designer
Matthew B. Armentrout Wig, Hair & Make-Up
Daniel Kluger Sound Effects
Melanie J. Lisby Production Stage Manager
Corrine Gologursky Prop Master
Andrea Grody Music Direction
Mike Brun Orchestrations
Kristy Norter Music Coordinator
Andrea Grody Music Supervisor
Ayanna Thompson Dramaturg
Heidi Griffiths Casting
Kate Murray Casting
Raja Feather Kelly1 Consultant

1Credited as Creative Consultant.

Actor Role
Jenna Bainbridge Harry T. Burn/Ensemble
Ally Bonino Lucy Burns
Tsilala Brock Dudley Malone
Jenn Colella Carrie Catt
Hannah Cruz Ruza Wenclawska
Nadia Dandashi Doris Stevens
Aisha de Haas Alva Belmont/Phoebe Burn
Amina Faye Robin/Ensemble
Holly Gould Alice Paul Standby
Cassondra James Mary Church Terrell
Nikki M. James Ida B. Wells
Jaygee Macapugay Mollie Hay/Ensemble
Grace McLean Woodrow Wilson
Susan Oliveras Nina Otero-Warren/Ensemble
Mia Pak Mrs. Wu/Ensemble
Liz Pearce Warden Whittaker/Ensemble
J. Riley Jr Phyllis Terrell/Ensemble
Phillipa Soo Inez Milholland
Shaina Taub Alice Paul
Ada Westfall Mrs. Herndon/Ensemble
Stephanie Everett N/A UNDERSTUDY
Monica Tulia Ramirez N/A UNDERSTUDY
Angela Travino N/A UNDERSTUDY
Aurelia Williams N/A UNDERSTUDY
Award Person / Company Function
1 NOMINATED 2023 Lucille Lortel Award, Outstanding Musical Shaina Taub Book
      Shaina Taub Music & Lyrics
      The Public Theater Producer
2 NOMINATED 2023 Lucille Lortel Award, Outstanding Featured Performer in a Musical Nikki M. James Actor
3 NOMINATED 2022 Drama Desk Award, Outstanding Lyrics Shaina Taub Music & Lyrics
4 NOMINATED 2022 Drama League Award, Outstanding Production of a Musical Shaina Taub Book
      Shaina Taub Music & Lyrics
      The Public Theater Producer
5 NOMINATED 2022 Drama League Award, Distinguished Performance Nikki M. James Actor
6 NOMINATED 2022 Drama League Award, Outstanding Direction of a Musical Leigh Silverman Director
7 NOMINATED 2022 Outer Critics Circle Award, Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical Jenn Colella Actor
8 NOMINATED 2022 Antonyo Award, Best Costumes Toni-Leslie James Costume Designer
9 NOMINATED 2022 BroadwayWorld Off/Off-Off Broadway Awards, Best New Book Of A Musical (Off-Broadway) Shaina Taub Book