Angel Reapers

Name: Pershing Square Signature Center/ The Romulus Linney Courtyard Theatre
Address: 480 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036
Production Information
First performance date: February 2, 2016
Opening date: February 22, 2016
Closing date: March 20, 2016
External Links: Official Website

View Larger Images
Production Description
Featuring traditional Shaker songs and a stunning mix of modern dance and actual Shaker movements, Angel Reapers captures the soul of the Shakers, an early American religious sect, which sought to connect with God through ecstatic ritual and strict celibacy. While the congregants strive desperately to maintain divine purity, the needs of the flesh threaten to take hold. With text by Pulitzer Prize winning playwright Alfred Uhry, this wildly theatrical collage about the glorious love of the divine and the overwhelming desire for human connection marks the return to Signature of Residency Five playwright and MacArthur “Genius” Award winner Martha Clarke.
Opening Night Credits

Production Credits
Person/Company Credit
Signature Theatre Producer
Erika Mallin Executive Director
James Houghton Founding Artistic Director
Martha Clarke Playwright
Alfred Uhry Playwright
Martha Clarke Director
Arthur Solari Musical Director
Adrian Silver Assistant Director
Martha Clarke Choreographer
Gabrielle Malone Dance Captain
Marsha Ginsberg Set Designer
Donna Zakowska Costume Designer
Christopher Akerlind Lighting Designer
Samuel Crawford Sound Designer
Arthur Solari Sound Designer
Seung Kyu Shin Associate Set Designer
Erika Lilienthal Assistant Costume Designer
Michael McGee Assistant Lighting Designer
Boneau/Bryan-Brown Press Representative
B. Bales Karlin Production Stage Manager
Todd Kalina Assistant Stage Manager
Diane Hunte Wardrobe
Arthur Solari Arranger
Jenna Clark Embrey Dramaturg
Telsey + Company Casting
Tiffany Little Canfield Casting Director

Actor Role
Sophie Bortolussi Sister Agnes Renard
Nicholas Bruder Brother William Lee
Asli Bulbul Sister Hannah Cogswell
Lindsey Dietz-Marchant Sister Susannah Farrington
Ingrid Kapteyn Sister Mary Chase
Rico Lebron Brother Valentine Rathburn
Gabrielle Malone Sister Grace Darrow
Sally Murphy Mother Ann Lee
Matthew Oaks Brother Jabez Stone
Andrew Robinson Brother David Darrow
Yon Tande Brother Moses
Award Person / Company Function
1 WON 2016 Lucille Lortel Award, Outstanding Choreographer Martha Clarke Choreographer
2 NOMINATED 2016 Lucille Lortel Award, Outstanding Costume Design Donna Zakowska Costume Designer
3 WON 2016 Lucille Lortel Award, Alternative Theatrical Experience Signature Theatre Producer
      Martha Clarke Playwright
      Alfred Uhry Playwright
4 NOMINATED 2016 Lucille Lortel Award, Unique Theatrical Experience    
5 NOMINATED 2016 Hewes Design Award, Lighting Design Christopher Akerlind Lighting Designer
6 NOMINATED 2016 Hewes Design Award, Notable Effects Samuel Crawford Sound Designer
      Arthur Solari Sound Designer
7 NOMINATED 2016 Off Broadway Alliance Award, Best Unique Theatrical Experience