Southern Comfort

Name: Joseph Papp Public Theater/ Anspacher Theater
Address: 425 Lafayette Street, New York, NY 10003
Production Information
First performance date: February 23, 2016
Opening date: March 13, 2016
Closing date: March 27, 2016
External Links: Official Website

View Larger Images
Production Description
Based on Kate Davis’ 2001 Sundance Award-winning documentary, SOUTHERN COMFORT tells the true story of a group of transgender friends living life on their own terms in the back hills of rural Georgia. Winner of the prestigious Jonathan Larson Award, this folk and bluegrass inspired musical is a celebration of redefining family and choosing love over every obstacle. Tony-winning lyricist/composer of Falsettos William Finn calls SOUTHERN COMFORT, “remarkable,” with a score that “mines the country’s heart, and unveils, along its way, surprising pathways to a new world.”
Opening Night Credits

Production Credits
Person/Company Credit
The Public Theater Producer
Oskar Eustis Artistic Director
Patrick Willingham Executive Director
Maria Goyanes Associate Producer
Kate Davis1 Original Author
Thomas Caruso Conceiver
Robert DuSold Conceiver
Dan Collins Book
Julianne Wick Davis Music
Dan Collins Lyricist
Thomas Caruso Director
Samantha Saltzman Assistant Director
Ryan Kasprzak Choreographer
Kelly Liz Bolick Assistant Choreographer
James J. Fenton Set Designer
Patricia E. Doherty Costume Designer
Ed McCarthy Lighting Designer
Andrew Keister Sound Designer
David Brian Brown Hair Designer
Warren Giles Assistant Set Designer
Anna Grigo Assistant Set Designer
Chris Thompson Assistant Set Designer
Matthew Pedersen Assistant Costume Designer
Pamela Kupper Assistant Lighting Designer
Josh Liebert Associate Sound Designer
Jeremy Adams General Manager
Buzz Cohen Production Stage Manager
Patrick David Egan Assistant Stage Manager
Jeni Ahlfeld Wardrobe
David M. Lutken Music Direction
Julianne Wick Davis Orchestrations
David M. Lutken Orchestrations
Joel Waggoner Orchestrations
Antoine Silverman Musician
David M. Lutken Banjo
Lizzie Hagstedt Bass
Elizabeth Ward Land2 Drums
Morgan Morse Electric Guitar
David M. Lutken Guitar
Morgan Morse Guitar
David M. Lutken Harmonica
Elizabeth Ward Land Piano
Morgan Morse Piano
Joel Waggoner Piano
Joel Waggoner Violin
Polly Carl Dramaturg
Heidi Griffiths Casting
Geoff Josselson Casting
Jordan Thaler Casting
Ty Defoe Consultant
Charlotte Fleck Dialect Coach

1Original Documentary.

Actor Role
Donnie Cianciotto Sam
Lizzie Hagstedt Storyteller
Jeffrey Kuhn Jackson
Elizabeth Ward Land Storyteller
David M. Lutken Storyteller
Jeff McCarthy Lola Cola
Annette O'Toole Robert Eads
Aneesh Sheth Carly
Robin Skye Melanie
Joel Waggoner Storyteller
Kelly Liz Bolick Carly UNDERSTUDY
Award Person / Company Function
1 NOMINATED 2016 Lucille Lortel Award, Outstanding Musical The Public Theater Producer
      Dan Collins Book
      Julianne Wick Davis Music
      Dan Collins Lyricist
      Thomas Caruso Conceiver
      Robert DuSold Conceiver
      Kate Davis Original Author
2 WON 2016 Lucille Lortel Award, Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical Annette O'Toole Actor
3 WON 2016 Lucille Lortel Award, Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical Jeffrey Kuhn Actor
4 NOMINATED 2016 Drama Desk Award, Outstanding Actress in a Musical Annette O'Toole Actor
5 NOMINATED 2016 Drama League Award, Distinguished Performance Annette O'Toole Actor
6 NOMINATED 2016 Outer Critics Circle Award, Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical