The Mystery of Edwin Drood

Name: Delacorte Theater
Address: 81 Central Park West, New York, NY 10024
Production Information
Number of performances: 24
Opening date: August 4, 1985
Closing date: September 1, 1985
External Links: Internet Broadway Database
Production Description
Play-within-a-play format of Charles Dicken's unfinished murder mystery. Endings were determined by audience participation. Names of "actors" appear in parentheses.
Opening Night Credits

Production Credits
Person/Company Credit
Joseph Papp Public Theater/New York Shakespeare Festival Producer
Joseph Papp Producer
Jason Steven Cohen Associate Producer
New York Telephone Associate Producer
Rupert Holmes Book
Rupert Holmes Music
Wilford Leach Director
Michael Starobin Musical Director
Edward Strauss Musical Director
Graciela Daniele Choreographer
Bob Shaw Set Designer
Lindsay W. Davis Costume Designer
Paul Gallo Lighting Designer
Otts Munderloh Sound Designer
Bruce Campbell Press Representative
Merle Debuskey Press Representative
Richard Kornberg Press Representative
Don Summa Press Representative
James Harker Production Stage Manager
Robin Herskowitz Stage Manager
Michael Starobin Conductor
Rupert Holmes Orchestrations
Edward Strauss Assistant Conductor
Santo Russo Baritone Horn
Melanie L. Punter Bass
Earl M. McIntyre Bass Trombone
Peter Prosser Cellist
Glenn Rhian Drums
Russell Rizner French Horn
James Kowal Keyboards
Don Rebic Keyboards
Edward Strauss Keyboards
Skip Reed Percussion
Lester Cantor Reeds
Richard Heckman Reeds
David Weiss Reeds
Santo Russo Trombone
Phil Granger Trumpet
Earl M. McIntyre Tuba

Actor Role
Betty Buckley Edwin Drood (Alice Nutting)
Patti Cohenour Rosa Bud (Deidre Peregrine)
Jerome Dempsey Durdles (Nick Cricker)
Nicholas Dunn Client of Princess Puffer (Harry Sayle)
Karen Giombetti Succubus (Sarah Cook)
Stephen Glavin Statue (Christopher Lyon)
Charles Goff Portrait/Horace(Brian Pankhurst)
Joe Grifasi Bazzard (Phillip Bax)
Robert Grossman Harold (James Throttle)
John Herrera Neville Landless (Victor Grinstead)
Don Kehr Deputy (Robert Bascomb)
Judy Kuhn Alice (Isabel Yearsley)
Herndon Lackey Julian (Alan Eliot)
Cleo Laine Princess Puffer (Angela Prysock)
Francine Landes Succubus (Gwendolen Prynn)
Howard McGillin John Jasper (Clive Paget)
Brad Miskell Client of Princess Puffer (Montague Pruitt)
Donna Murphy Beatrice (Florence Gill)
George Rose Mayor Thomas Sapsea (Your Chairman-William Cartwright)
Jana Schneider Helena Landless (Janet Conover)
Larry Shue Rev. Crisparkle (Wilfred Barking-Smythe)
George Spelvin Dick Datchery
Charles Goff Bazzard (Phillip Bax)/Rev. Crisparkle (Wilfred Barking-Smythe) UNDERSTUDY
Robert Grossman Mayor Thomas Sapsea (Your Chairman-William Cartwright)/Durdles (Nick Cricker) UNDERSTUDY
Judy Kuhn Edwin Drood (Alice Nutting)/Rosa Bud (Deidre Peregrine) UNDERSTUDY
Herndon Lackey John Jasper (Clive Paget)/Neville Landless (Victor Grinstead) UNDERSTUDY
Brad Miskell Deputy (Robert Bascomb) UNDERSTUDY
Donna Murphy Helena Landless (Janet Conover)/Princess Puffer (Angela Prysock) UNDERSTUDY
Award Person / Company Function
1 WON 1986 Clarence Derwent Award Patti Cohenour Actor
2 WON 1986 Drama Desk Award, Outstanding Actor in a Musical George Rose Actor
3 WON 1986 Drama Desk Award, Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical Jana Schneider Actor
4 WON 1986 Drama Desk Award, Outstanding Director of a Musical Wilford Leach Director
5 WON 1986 Drama Desk Award, Outstanding Music Rupert Holmes Music
6 WON 1986 Drama Desk Award, Outstanding Book of a Musical Rupert Holmes Book
7 WON 1986 Drama Desk Award, Outstanding Orchestrations Rupert Holmes Orchestrations
8 WON 1986 Drama Desk Award, Outstanding Costume Design Lindsay W. Davis Costume Designer
9 WON 1986 Edgar Award, Best Play    
10 WON 1986 Theatre World Award Cleo Laine Actor
11 WON 1986 Theatre World Award Howard McGillin Actor