Five Lesbian Brothers

Company Information
The Five Lesbian Brothers create provocative lesbian theater for the masses through the fine feminist art of collaboration.

They are Maureen Angelos, Babs Davy, Dominique Dibbell, Peg Healey and Lisa Kron. The Brothers came together as a theater company in 1989 after performing together in various other combinations at the Obie award winning WOW Cafe Theatre.

Their repertoire includes four full length plays, Voyage to Lesbos, Brave Smiles, The Secretaries and Brides of the Moon, as well as numerous event-specific showstopping acts. The Brother's plays have been produced Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway and beyond by New York Theatre Workshop, The Joseph Papp Public Theatre, the WOW Cafe Theatre, Downtown Art Company, Performance Space 122, Dixon Place, La Mama, the Kitchen and the Whitney Museum of American Art at Phillip Morris. They have toured to London, Los Angeles, San Francisco, San Diego, Houston, Columbus, Seattle, Philadelphia, Boston and the deep woods of Michigan. Their plays have also been produced by other companies throughout the United States and, believe it or not, in Zagreb, Croatia.

In addition to their theatrical work, the Brothers have also written a book of lesbian humor for Simon and Schuster and three short films for HBO. They were selected, along with Kiki and Herb and Tammy Faye Starlight, to host episodes of "Late Night Out" on the Showtime Network. Their work is taught in theater and queer/feminist studies courses in universities throughout the U.S.

The Brothers are the recipients of a Village Voice Obie Award, a New York Dance and Performance Award ("Bessie"), and a New York Press Award as Best Performance Group.

An anthology of their plays entitled Five Lesbian Brothers/Four Plays was published in 2000 by Theatre Communications Group. (Biography dated 04/19/2018 )

Production Theatre Opened Credit
1 Oedipus at Palm Springs New York Theatre Workshop 08/03/2005 Author
2 The Secretaries New York Theatre Workshop 09/08/1994 Playwright
3 Brave Smiles New York Theatre Workshop 06/10/1993 Playwright
Award Production Function
1 WON 1995 Obie Award, Special Citation The Secretaries Playwright
They are Maureen Angelos, Babs Davy, Dominique Dibbell, Peg Healey and Lisa Kron.