Bartlett Sher

Personal Information
BARTLETT SHER is Artistic Director of Intiman Theatre in Seattle, where he directed Shakespeare’s Cymbeline, Craig Lucas’ The Dying Gaul and Carlo Goldoni’s The Servant of Two Masters during the 2001 season. In New York, he directed the American premiere of Harley Granville Barker’s 1906 play Waste (Theatre for a New Audience, Obie Award for Best Play) and the world premiere of Theresa Rebeck’s The Butterfly Collection (Playwrights Horizons). Previously, he served as Associate Artistic Director at Hartford Stage Company and Company Director at The Guthrie Theater. Sher was also a longtime Associate Artist at the Idaho Shakespeare Festival, and has directed at theatres across the country including Portland Stage Company, Great Lakes Theater Festival, PlayMakers Repertory Company and The Acting Company. He received his graduate training as the only American in a class of international theatre artists at Leeds University in England, and has taught in the United States and internationally.

Production Theatre Opened Credit
1 Corruption Mitzi E. Newhouse Theater 03/11/2024 Director
2 Intimate Apparel Mitzi E. Newhouse Theater 01/31/2022 Director
3 Oslo Mitzi E. Newhouse Theater 07/11/2016 Director
4 Blood and Gifts Mitzi E. Newhouse Theater 11/21/2011 Director
5 Prayer for My Enemy Playwrights Horizons 12/09/2008 Director
6 Don Juan Lucille Lortel Theatre 03/23/2003 Director
7 Cymbeline Lucille Lortel Theatre 01/20/2002 Director
8 The Butterfly Collection Playwrights Horizons 09/08/2000 Director
9 Waste American Place Theatre 03/12/2000 Director
10 The Nest Perry Street Theatre 02/08/1989 Director
Award Production Function
1 NOMINATED 2022 Drama Desk Award, Outstanding Director of a Musical Intimate Apparel Director
2 NOMINATED 2022 Outer Critics Circle Award, Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical Intimate Apparel Director
3 WON 2017 Lucille Lortel Award, Outstanding Director Oslo Director
4 WON 2017 Obie Award, Ensemble Awards Oslo Director
5 NOMINATED 2002 Lucille Lortel Award, Outstanding Director Cymbeline Director
6 NOMINATED 2002 Drama Desk Award, Outstanding Director of a Play Cymbeline Director
7 WON 2002 Joe A. Callaway Award (SDCF), Excellence in Directing Cymbeline Director