Name: Playwrights Horizons
Address: 416 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036
Production Information
Opening date: March 11, 1997
Closing date: April 6, 1997
Opening Night Credits

Production Credits
Person/Company Credit
Playwrights Horizons Producer
Ira Weitzman Producer
Tim Sanford Artistic Director
Leslie Marcus Managing Director
Jeanine Tesori Associate Producer
Brian Crawley Book
Jeanine Tesori Composer
Doris Betts1 Based on a Story by
Susan H. Schulman Director
Michael Rafter Musical Director
Kathleen Marshall Choreographer
Luis Perez Fight Director/Coordinator
Derek McLane Set Designer
Catherine Zuber Costume Designer
Peter Kaczorowski Lighting Designer
Tony Meola Sound Designer
Lynn Landis General Manager
Perry Cline Production Stage Manager
Steve Zorthian Stage Manager
Clint DeGanon Musician
Kermit Driscoll Musician
John Herrington Musician
Anik Oulianine Musician
Gordon Twist Musician
Steven Tyler Musician
Gregory Utzig Musician
Mary Whitaker Musician
Michael Rafter Conductor
Joseph Joubert Orchestrations
Buryl Red Vocal Arrangements
James Calleri Casting Director

1Credited as Based on The Ugliest Pilgrim by Doris Betts.

Actor Role
Stephen Lee Anderson Father
Kirk McDonald Creepy Guy/Bus Driver 1/Radio Singer/Billy Dean/Virgil
Michael McElroy Flicker
Michael Medeiros Leroy Evans/Waiter/Mechanic/Lead Radio Singer/Bus Driver 3/Earl
Cass Morgan Old Lady 1/Hotel Singer1/Old Lady 2
Paula Newsome Woman with Fan/Music Hall Singer/Mabel
Michael Park Monty
Amanda Posner Young Vi
Roz Ryan Woman Knitting/Landlady/Hotel Singer 2/Gospel Soloist
Lauren Ward Violet
Robert Westenberg Bus Drvier 1/Preacher/Rufus/Radio Singer/Bus Driver 4
Award Person / Company Function
1 WON 1997 Lucille Lortel Award, Outstanding Musical Brian Crawley Book
      Jeanine Tesori Composer
      Playwrights Horizons Producer
      Ira Weitzman Producer
      Jeanine Tesori Associate Producer
2 WON 1997 Drama Critics' Circle Award, Best Musical Brian Crawley Book
      Jeanine Tesori Composer
3 WON 1997 Obie Award, Special Citation Jeanine Tesori Composer
4 NOMINATED 1997 Outer Critics Circle Award, Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical