The Taking of Miss Janie

Name: Mitzi E. Newhouse Theater
Address: 150 West 65th Street, New York, NY 10023
Production Information
Number of performances: 42
Opening date: May 4, 1975
Closing date: June 15, 1975
Opening Night Credits

Production Credits
Person/Company Credit
Joseph Papp Public Theater/New York Shakespeare Festival Producer
Woodie King Jr. Producer
New York Shakespeare Festival Lincoln Center Producer
Joseph Papp Producer
New Federal Theatre1 Co-Producer
Bernard Gersten Associate Producer
Ed Bullins Playwright
Gilbert Moses Director
Kert Lundell Set Designer
Judy Dearing Costume Designer
Richard Nelson Lighting Designer
Sally Campbell Press Representative
Merle Debuskey Press Representative
Faith Geer Press Representative
Oz Scott Production Stage Manager

1Credited as Henry Street Settlemen's New Federal Theatre.

Actor Role
Hilary Jean Beane Janie
Darryl Croxton Len
Dianne Oyama Dixon Flossy
Kirk Kirksey Rick
Adeyemi Lythcott Monty
Robbie McCauley Peggy
Sam McMurray Lonnie
Lin Shaye Sharon
Robert B. Silver Mort Silberstein
Award Person / Company Function
1 WON 1975 Drama Critics' Circle Award, Best American Play Ed Bullins Playwright
2 WON 1975 Obie Award, Playwriting Ed Bullins Playwright
3 WON 1975 Obie Award, Direction Gilbert Moses Director